Sad news

It is with deep regret that we pass on the sad news of the passing of one of our Life Members, Ronnie Higginson. Ronnie passed away peacefully on 19th January 2018.
Ronnie served as a member and Treasurer of the Association Council for many years before his retirement in 2009.
The Association’s thoughts are with Ronnie’s wife Anne, their sons, Ronald and Brian and the wider family circle at this very sad time.

Ivan Marshall Merit Award 2017-18

The Mid Ulster Football Association recently held its annual Christmas Dinner in the Seagoe Hotel, Portadown, with a variety of members in attendance representing all strands and sections of local football here in Mid Ulster.
After a lovely meal, the event highlight was the presentation of the Ivan Marshall Merit Award by MUFA Chairman Sean O’Neill to this year’s deserving winner, Alan (Grass) Gracey from Hanover FC.
‘Grass’ played Irish League football for Portadown, Glentoran, Glenavon, Lisburn Distillery and Ballymena United in a period spanning over 10 years, and quite remarkably has been an active player / member of Hanover now for almost 35 years.
Alan was recognised by his peers for his outstanding contribution to the game which has now spanned over 5 decades, and was delighted to receive the trophy, presented in memory of the late great Ivan Marshall.
A prize raffle was also arranged by MUFA Treasurer Colin McCullough and Secretary Brian Larkin, with a grand total of £350 being raised on the evening. Prize winners included MUFA Honorary Members Roy Marshall and John Brown, Ronnie Haughey from the press, Alan’s daughter Leah Gracey, Bobby Lutton from the Referee Assessors panel, local Referee Glen Buchanan, and June McCullough.
This money will be forwarded to the Chairman’s chosen charity, the Southern Area Hospice, Newry, which as many know is a very worthy cause indeed and who rely heavily on independent voluntary contributions such as this from the public.
The Chairman rounded off the evening by wishing everyone associated with Mid Ulster football a very happy Christmas and a peaceful New Year.

Bob Radcliffe Cup Final 2017-18

It was heart-warming to see such a large crowd at the Bob Radcliffe final on Boxing Day, on a lovely bright morning at Stangmore Park, Dungannon.

It was the boys from Hanover FC who came out on top with an impressive 3-0 victory, with commiserations to the Valley Rangers FC boys, who fought tooth and nail for the whole 90 minutes to make a real contest of it.

The goals were scored by Regan Mcilveen, Adam White and Justin Bradley.

A note of thanks also to our hosts Dungannon Swifts FC and to our 4 officials, referee Glenn Buchanan, his assistants Jamie Patterson and Davy Mateer, and our 4th official Mark Irwin. Thanks also for some fantastic snaps of the game go to Eamonn Shanks, sterling work as ever!

Once again, the MUFA would like to thank all those who attended for your support of OUR local game!

Ivan Marshall Merit Award

The Mid-Ulster FA Council continue to seek nominations for the Ivan Marshall Merit Award for 2017.

Nominations can be sent by individuals or clubs giving a detailed account and achievement of whom they consider has made an outstanding contribution to football in the Mid-Ulster Area and worthy of receiving the coveted award.

Nominations should be sent to:- MUFA Secretary Brian Larkin, up to and including Saturday 14th October 2017.