Ivan Marshall, a true prodigy of Mid Ulster Football

In 1954, Lurgan born Ivan Marshall entered into football management when he re-formed Queens Park Swifts. Ivan entered the team into the Mid-Ulster Football League leaving behind a playing career which had seen him play for Lurgan Rangers, Dungannon Swifts and his home town club Glenavon F.C.

It was during his time as manager of Queens Park that Ivan was approached by the late Bob Radcliffe to join the ranks of the Mid-Ulster League committee. Ivan progressed through the committee and went on to become chairman of the league, and in 1977 he took over the reins as chairman of the Mid-Ulster Association from the late David McKee.

During his time as chairman, Ivan always held a desire to progress the Mid-Ulster League and had a dream of starting an Intermediate League within the association. In the 1987/88 season, his dream was finally realised when the Intermediate League was formed and has went on to grow into one of the best football leagues in Northern Ireland today.

Ivan held a number of senior positions throughout his association with football. He was a member of the IFA Senior Council and served on all the committees from Junior to Senior. A member of the IFA Council for more than 30 years, his greatest moment came when he was nominated vice-president in 1995, succeeding Jim Boyce when the latter became president. As an international committee member, he travelled the world with the Northern Ireland Senior teams.

Ivan held on to these positions until his untimely death in February 2003 at the age of 65. In every way, he was quite a character. The "Wee Man" will always be known as Mr Mid-Ulster. We at the Mid-Ulster are proud to have known and served under such a knowledgeable and deeply respectable man.

We will always remember him.


The prestigious Ivan Marshall Memorial Merit Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to football in the Mid Ulster area. The Mid Ulster Football Association accept nominations for this prestigious award during October/November and it will be presented at the annual MUFA Christmas Dinner in December.

Nominations should be sent to the Secretary.


Alan Gracey 2017
Aidan Murphy & Carol McAree 2019
Eddie Pepper 2016
John Brown 2015
Brian Gordon 2014